Are ramen noodles vegan? Ramen noodle is a Japanese noodle soup and it consists of Chinese wheat noodles made from flour, salt, and water, it is known as the fastest and easiest meal to cook especially for college students.
Ramen noodles are the type of instant noodles enjoyed by everyone around the world, it is not just easy to cook but inexpensive and healthy as well but there is confusion on whether they are healthy enough to be consumed regularly and if they can be eaten on a vegan or vegetarian diet.
A vegan or vegetarian diet should contain no form of dairies like milk, eggs, or cheese and although ramen noodles may be convenient, it is important to know whether they are dairy-free before consuming.
Ramen noodles are pre-cooked which means they have been steamed then air-dried and there is doubt on how fast and how convenient they are but there nutritional values need to be carefully examined and as they are made from wheat flour and oil and with some extra ingredients for flavour.
Ramen noodle’s nutritional information varies between products and while some are low in calories, some are not, and if you wondering if ramen noodles are dairy-free, keep reading to know about eating dairy-free noodles.
And now to the main question.
Are Ramen Noodles Dairy Free?
Yes, surprisingly ramen noodles are dairy-free and although it is made from wheat flour and oil, it also contains some extra ingredients for flavor such as salt or additional filters such as potato starch and all these ingredients are 100% vegan and even 100% vegetarian however the only thing to watch out for is the seasoning packet accompanying the noodles which are not dairy-free hence some vegetarians and vegans choose to purchase the ramen noodles and throw away the packet flavor and make use of their own seasoning.
Should you drain ramen noodles?
Yes, you should drain ramen noodles if it is cooked with just water, drain off the water, and add noodles in a pot with broth however this won’t be needed if you cook the ramen in water that also has veggies and meat, that creates a good base for broth The best way to prevent mushy noodles is to drain it.
Are ramen noodles vegan?
Yes, frame noodles are 100% vegan as it is made from wheat flour and oil and some extra ingredients which include salt or additional fillers such as starch potato which are all dairy from and no animal-based ingredient either. Ramen noodles are indeed vegan however when in doubt, read the label.
Should you avoid ramen noodles?
No, you shouldn’t avoid ramen noodles, they are low in calories but lack key ingredients and you should avoid consuming ramen noodles regularly, they lack fiber, protein, and other crucial vitamins and nutrients, for this reason, you should avoid eating ramen noodles multiple times per week and take note that regular consumption can also lead to massive amounts of ingested sodium.
Ramen noodles are an easy food to rely on for people who don’t have much time for cooking and although ramen noodles are considered not to contain any dairy, it is best to stay cautious and pay attention to the ingredients in it and they packed in a good amount of calories without the wide array of nutrients.
It should be noted that instant ramen noodles are different from fresh ramen noodles which can be served in soup form and can be topped with nutritious ingredients like eggs and vegetables.
If you want to make sure to purchase vegetarian or vegan ramen noodles, be sure to read the label and go for top ramen brands.
Read next: Maruchan vs Top Ramen: Which Is Better?